Quantcast

webOS 2.0 Information

LG announced today that webOS 2.0 is coming to their smart TV lineup, to be showcased at CES 2015 in Las Vegas next month. As of now, the reported features will be:

• Faster boot/load time
  • 4K support for streaming videos from sources like Amazon and Netflix
  • Quick user settings
  • New ribbon
  • Better YouTube integration

Other than that, we'll have to wait and see. Please post if you have news and features to share.

• Like 1

That is insane. I can only guess how many new features and bug fixes they will release to the older <2015 models. Probably none. I don't know who is to blame, the architects who created a platform that will only last around 2 years, or the CEOs who want to maximize profit no matter what. As an engineer, I totally doubt that the existing hardware is not capable of running webos 2.0, so my guess is that it is the profit margins that is to blame. Well, now LG just lost one customer, since future proof high end electronics is very high up on my list of priorities whenever I buy this kind of stuff that is so totally software focused (I mean, how much better can the hardware be?). Here, Apple and Microsoft behave much better, by releasing new software (often free of charge) to their existing older hardware...

So long, LG... So long Bean Bird, you are cool but your owners are nuts...

/H

• Like 1

Hello everyone,

I just heard that LG will not update to webOS 2.0 2014 TV! It's just unacceptable, some of us paid a full salary for a nice Christmas present poisoned!
Maybe we could get together around the world to show our discontent? We could start a petition?

link hidden, please login to view

what about you?

Sorry for my bad English, i use google translator because I am French.

• Like 4

Very disapointing.... Watched the live stream and hoped to have some beans in my ears as they said that webOS 2.0 will only be compatible with those new models from 2015...